Fall Funk

img_1478

Fall is my favourite time of year. The beauty of nature as it changes from vibrant greens to golden yellows, reds and browns is magical. The smell of crisp air, pumpkin spice and apple everything is heavenly. The abundance of fall fairs, family Thanksgivings, pumpkin patches, apple orchards and Halloween decorating is  exhilarating. So then why do I always seem to be in a funk around this time?

By nature I am a relatively positive, always look at the bright side, “How does she have so much energy all the time?” kind of person.My family is incredible, I have the greatest friends known to (wo)man, I love my job and yet, I almost always suffer with Debbie Downer attitude this time of year.

I have thought long and hard about what it is about this time of year that gets me feeling all funky; the incessant need to reassess my life and everything in it. If it’s not broke, don’t fix it right? Well then, what gives?

It has been suggested to me that maybe because my birthday is in October I’m feeling some ‘getting older blues’ but I’m that crazy lady that LOVES my birthday and wholeheartedly embraces getting older. Every year is a new adventure and I am content being in my 30s. My 20s were a complete gong show filled with insecurities, unknowns, and all that ‘who am I?’ nonsense. So that can’t be it.

Is it because of the weather? The days are getting shorter and it is getting darker and darker earlier making it reasonable to be in bed by 8pm throughout the week.  Fall is the gentle reminder that winter is coming and it will hit with a vengeance with all of its polar vortexes and wind chills. It will eventually take ten minutes longer in the morning to get enough clothing on so I don’t freeze but it will take even longer to psych myself up enough to walk out the door. Clearly there is some hostility there so it could be due in part to the weather but I don’t think that’s the sole cause.

Regardless of what causes my fall funk, I always snap out of it after a week or so and relinquish all the negative vibes floating around in my head. What helps me combat my Negative Nancy state? It’s simple- me time. Seriously! Spending a little time by myself usually kicks the funk away. Taking a bath by myself, reading a book (not a children’s book), binge-watching a TV show made for adults or watching a movie (that isn’t animated) from start to finish on Netflix and dabbling in my hobbies are always the first to be cut when I run out of time at the end of the day, so I make sure that when I’m feeling funky, I amp up the me time.

So for all you momma’s out there feeling a little fall funk, pour yourself a glass of vino, cuddle up in a blanket and indulge in some Netflix or have a hot bath and read a can’t-put-it-down book. Take some much deserved YOU time, forget about the laundry and dishes, and kick that funk!

Much love ladies,
Richelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

